Is it possible to delete WhatsApp message before it gets sent? Well the answer is a Yes. You can delete a Sent WhatsApp Message before it gets delivered to the recipient but it’s not easy as it sounds and the procedure is quite long. If you are looking for how to delete sent messages on WhatsApp then this article is right for you. Some people look for how to delete WhatsApp account from their phones when they send a message to a wrong recipient but believe me, even if you delete WhatsApp account from your phone, the message will still get delivered.
WhatsApp has become very popular with over 1 billion users worldwide. Most of the times you will get caught up texting so many people at the same time and end up sending videos, photos or texts to wrong recipients. This happens everyday, it happened to me once but i was so lucky that the text still showed a clock icon; i had to enable airplane mode straight away and delete the text before it got sent.
Years back WhatsApp never prompted confirmations on forwarded messages. There was no Yes / No dialogue to confirm the process implicating mere tapping on a contact was enough to get the message sent to a recipient. This was changed in recent updates, you can now confirm whether you are sending the message to the right person by tapping YES or NO.
Deleting Sent WhatsApp Message
Like said earlier, it’s very possible to delete a sent WhatsApp message but it might cost you a conversation with the recipient for over a month. If your connection is slow then you might have a chance to terminate the process early. Am going to share two methods you can use to to delete sent WhatsApp message and prevent it from getting delivered to the recipient.
Method 1 – Airplane Mode Emmergency
If you still see a clock icon on the Sent WhatsApp Message, quickly activate Airplane Mode to interrupt the connection then personally delete the message. The clock icon simply shows the message hasn’t yet left your phone . This is one of the easiest ways of deleting sent messages on WhatsApp but rarely happens because WhatsApp messages get sent very fast. The clock icon usually shows up in case your connection is slow or in case of any network interruption.
Method 2 – Block recipient for 30 days
In case the message gets sent, you can still prevent it from getting delivered only if the recipient is not online. If you see a single tick then you have to block the recipient for at least 32 days then unblock them after but if you see a double tick, there is no way you can reverse it. Previously, WhatsApp messages stayed on the server for months but this was ruled out. Of late they spend a maximum of 30 days and if undelivered, they are automatically deleted. A single tick shows the message is already on the server but not yet delivered to the recipient. You can take advantage of this by blocking the recipient for a month and the Sent WhatsApp Message will not be delivered. This will cost you a conversation with the recipient for a month. Only bad thing with this method is sometimes the message actually gets delivered after, implicating you have to endeavor that you block the recipient as soon as possible.
I have tried these tricks personally and they have worked for me meaning they’ll work for you too. It’s only possible to delete a Sent WhatsApp Message if you don’t see a double tick. If you see a double tick then however much your block the recipient or clear WhatsApp conversation with them the message can’t be reversed. Good news is WhatsApp is trying to work on a feature that will make it possible for messages to be reversed even when delivered on the recipient’s account. I will definitely update this article as soon as the update gets released. Have you encountered a similar situation before? how did you delete the sent WhatsApp message? share your experience with us below.